The MASM Forum Archive 2004 to 2012

Project Support Forums => IDE Development and Support => RadAsm Support Forum => Topic started by: lamer on April 09, 2005, 01:42:28 PM

Title: AddManifest AddIn
Post by: lamer on April 09, 2005, 01:42:28 PM
Hi all!
Where can I find the AddManifest.dll (I've found this name in RadAsm Help)?
Or there is another way to create manifest resource?
Title: Re: AddManifest AddIn
Post by: KetilO on April 09, 2005, 03:19:23 PM
Hi

That addin is not stable in newer versions of RadASM

I prefer making an xptheme.xml file and add it as a MANIFEST resource.


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<assembly
   xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1"
   manifestVersion="1.0">
<assemblyIdentity
    processorArchitecture="x86"
    version="5.1.0.0"
    type="win32"
    name="program.exe"/>
    <description>Mx XP Program</description>
    <dependency>
    <dependentAssembly>
    <assemblyIdentity
         type="win32"
         name="Microsoft.Windows.Common-Controls"
         version="6.0.0.0"
         publicKeyToken="6595b64144ccf1df"
         language="*"
         processorArchitecture="x86"/>
    </dependentAssembly>
    </dependency>
</assembly>


KetilO
Title: Re: AddManifest AddIn
Post by: lamer on April 09, 2005, 05:14:31 PM
Hi!
That's exactly what I have tried to do, before starting to search after addin. I did: Project-->Resource and then added new resource of MANIFEST type. This added the entry:
#define MANIFEST                   24
1                  MANIFEST  DISCARDABLE "TestWindow.xml"
in the .rc file in Res directory. Everything is OK,isn't it? But then begins something strange. While making EXE I get an error message:
CVTRES : fatal error CVT1100: duplicate resource -- type:24, name:1, language:0x0409
TestWindow.res : fatal error LNK1123: failure during conversion to COFF: file invalid or corrupt

I go to .res file and see that my Manifest has been added twice! Well, I delete the resource, save all and try to add the manifest again.
Ooooops! Just the same error, but now .res file includes 4(!) instances of manifest. After all I have just created a new project and copied the code manually.
Title: Re: AddManifest AddIn
Post by: KetilO on April 09, 2005, 05:34:18 PM
Yes, this might happend if you manually edit the .rc files

KetilO
Title: Re: AddManifest AddIn
Post by: liquidsilver on April 13, 2005, 05:05:02 PM
How could you get it to work then?
Title: Re: AddManifest AddIn
Post by: Shantanu Gadgil on April 13, 2005, 05:35:59 PM
Add the following line to the .RC file

1   24   MANIFEST  DISCARDABLE "THEME_XP.xml"

The file THEME_XP.XML should be as:
---cut here---
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<assembly xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1" manifestVersion="1.0">
<assemblyIdentity
    name="Win32.Application.Name"
    processorArchitecture="x86"
    version="1.0.0.0"
    type="win32"/>
<description>Win32.App.Desc</description>
<dependency>
    <dependentAssembly>
        <assemblyIdentity
            type="win32"
            name="Microsoft.Windows.Common-Controls"
            version="6.0.0.0"
            processorArchitecture="x86"
            publicKeyToken="6595b64144ccf1df"
            language="*"
        />
    </dependentAssembly>
</dependency>
</assembly>
---cut here---
Title: Re: AddManifest AddIn
Post by: Shantanu Gadgil on April 13, 2005, 05:38:29 PM
Another thing MSDN says that if you have the "manifest" as one of the resource, you do not need to call "InitCommonControls"

Obviously if you still have to use "InitCommonControlsEx".
Title: Re: AddManifest AddIn
Post by: Shantanu Gadgil on April 13, 2005, 05:40:40 PM
ERROR in my previous post...the line:

1   24   MANIFEST  DISCARDABLE "THEME_XP.xml"

should be:

1   24  DISCARDABLE "THEME_XP.xml"
Title: Re: AddManifest AddIn
Post by: mariø on April 13, 2005, 07:20:56 PM
you can also have the manifest as a exefilename.exe.manifest in your executable directory
Title: Re: AddManifest AddIn
Post by: QvasiModo on April 13, 2005, 09:50:13 PM
Quote from: KetilO on April 09, 2005, 03:19:23 PM
That addin is not stable in newer versions of RadASM
Is it much work to fix it? What do I have to do?
Title: Re: AddManifest AddIn
Post by: KetilO on April 13, 2005, 10:07:48 PM
Hi

I am not shure, but guessing that registers (ebx, esi or edi) are not preserved.

KetilO
Title: Re: AddManifest AddIn
Post by: QvasiModo on April 13, 2005, 10:29:55 PM
I'll try to fix it when I get back home (don't have the sources here).