This is my first post here so I'd like to say hi and introduce myself first. My name is Tino and I'm studying computer engineering at the University of Puerto Rico. I'm currently learning data structures (high level) and in another class we're doing assembly with MASM. I'm a total noob at this so I'm a bit confused about the whole thing... but all in all I'm understanding what we've taken so far.
Now, my question: when trying to link a file, I got an error message saying NTVDM.exe had stopped working. I could not link the file and therefore I could not create the .exe to debug or run it. I checked and NTVDM.exe turns out to be a process that makes running 16 bit apps in a 32 bit environment possible (from what I understood). I thought maybe my assembler was screwed up so I searched for it and downloaded it (MASM) but it said I needed Visual C++ 2005 to install it. I already have Visual Studio 2008...
I ran the program in Vista and it worked pretty much as advertised, but this week my computer vista-cided (would not boot up windows no matter what I tried) and I felt compelled to install Windows 7 instead of reinstalling Vista (wasn't a good experience at all). I formatted the hard drive (managed to back up my info thru command prompt) and installed Windows 7, but now that component of windows (NTVDM) seems to be either corrupted or it simply doesn't work with the MASM version I have. Everything else seems to be working fine. So a) what could it be, and b) what can I do about it?
Thanks!
Tino,
Are you building 16 bit DOS applications ?
I'm not quite sure but I think it is 16 bits. It's a simple adder. And yes I am running it from DOS.
Here is a screenshot of what I am experiencing. I have to run the command prompt as an admin (freaking post xp windows) and when I try to link to create the executable file, that error comes up.
(http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs245.snc1/9221_147824691582_508206582_3186511_2494617_n.jpg)
What version of MASM and LINK are you using, and what is in your source file?
ML appears to be version 6.11.
Also, what are your command lines?
I have no idea, I'll have to ask the professor because he just gave us the link to a .zip with everything we needed and that was it. Source file is "sum2.asm";
title suma de dos bytes
.model small
.data
marca db '>>>>'
valor1 db 7
valor2 db 7
resultado db ?
.code
main proc
mov ax,@data
mov ds,ax
mov al,valor1
add al,valor2
mov resultado,al
mov ax,4c00h
int 21h
main endp
end main
Some of it is in spanish but it basically just adds two numbers. It is identical to an example he gave us (Which I assembled and ran when I had Vista) except for the number 7 in "valor1"; it was a 5 originally.
16-bit programs won't run under 64-bit vista
they should run under 32-bit vista, though
welcome to the forum Tino
Some versions of link.exe were actually dos/os2 hybrids - I wonder if win7 still has the os2 subsystem?
Command Lines are:
C:\masm>masm sum2.asm,,,,
C:\masm>link sum2,,,,,
And then the error occurs.
This is what a succesful run (using the trace command in the debugger) is supposed to look like:
(http://photos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs245.snc1/9221_147847571582_508206582_3186713_5575788_n.jpg)
When I try to do the same with the file sum2.asm, I try to link it and debug it but the file isn't found:
(http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs265.snc1/9221_147849281582_508206582_3186716_8218722_n.jpg)
Looked to see, but there is not sum2.exe file...
(http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs265.snc1/9221_147849336582_508206582_3186717_742392_n.jpg)
Quote from: dedndave on September 26, 2009, 08:32:14 AM
16-bit programs won't run under 64-bit vista
they should run under 32-bit vista, though
welcome to the forum Tino
I've got Windows 7 32 bit (x86). My previous operating system on this laptop was Vista Home Premium.
and btw thanks! :U
Quote from: sinsi on September 26, 2009, 08:38:20 AM
Some versions of link.exe were actually dos/os2 hybrids - I wonder if win7 still has the os2 subsystem?
I don't know what that is but how can I find out?
Under Windows 2000, using ML 6.11 the source assembles without error, and using the 16-bit linker version 5.60.339 the object module links without error. The linker does issue a warning about there being no stack segment, but this will not prevent the EXE from working. My command lines were:
ML /c filename.asm
LINK16 filename.obj;
The /c option specifies that ML should assemble only, instead of the default assemble and link.
You can get the linker version by simply executing it.
I'm going to move this topic to the 16-bit DOS forum where it belongs.
Just wondering about that 'invoking ML' command line -
/Ta<file> Assemble non-.ASM file
/Zm Enable MASM 5.10 compatibility
And what is a .sbr file?
you could try running it in dosbox (google), it might work then...
QuoteAnd what is a .sbr file?
Quote
.SBR -- Source browser file:
This file is created for each source file compiled with either the /FR or /Fr switch. This file contains symbolic information used by the Microsoft Browser Database Maintenance Utility (BSCMAKE) to produce a browser database file (.BSC file).
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/132340
But is it useful?
Quote from: evlncrn8 on September 26, 2009, 09:52:15 AM
you could try running it in dosbox (google), it might work then...
AFAIK ML 6.11 functions only as a 32-bit Windows app.
QuoteBut is it useful?
Not to me :lol
I'm pretty sure that ML versions before 6.14 were dos/os2 bound exe's - my version of masm6 (on 5 1/4 floppies!) was for programming os2 or dos, not even win3
I think you're right, near the start I find:
Copyright (C) 1986-1991 Phar Lap Software
Tino
"link sum2...." isn't gonna get it - lol
and - you need a 16-bit linker
look in the masm32\bin folder and see if you can find link16
if not, d/l one here...
http://website.masm32.com/microsoft/Lnk563.exe
I never tried to compile a 16 bit application in Assembly but I tried it in C and I never got it to run so I installed DOS on Virtual PC and it worked there...
Quote from: dedndave on September 26, 2009, 12:13:17 PM
Tino
"link sum2...." isn't gonna get it - lol
and - you need a 16-bit linker
look in the masm32\bin folder and see if you can find link16
if not, d/l one here...
http://website.masm32.com/microsoft/Lnk563.exe
Why won't "link sum2,,,,," work? It worked before (when I still had Vista). Or at least, the .exe was created. I checked in the masm folder (I have it in C:\masm\), but the linker is only "LINK" not "LINK16"... will try it.
I downloaded the file, renamed it "LINK16" so it would not conflict with the linker I already had, put it in the masm folder, and ran the rest from command prompt. It worked! Here's a screenshot of a program that writes in video memory:
(http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs245.snc1/9221_148359726582_508206582_3191250_6169454_n.jpg)
ohhhhhhh - those are commas
my eyes are going - lol - i thought they were periods
good to see you got things going Tino :U
most of us use a batch file to do the assembling and linking - you may want to do the same
i wrote one that also looks for resource files and if a second parameter "P" appears on the line, it uses PoLink (with different resource files)
The only thing I'm left with right now as far as doubts are concerned is whether my system is ok or not (given that Vista worked with the linker provided to me by my professor). Or, maybe the new version of NTVDM.exe isn't compatible with that particular linker?
Quote from: dedndave on September 27, 2009, 06:01:28 AM
ohhhhhhh - those are commas
my eyes are going - lol - i thought they were periods
good to see you got things going Tino :U
most of us use a batch file to do the assembling and linking - you may want to do the same
i wrote one that also looks for resource files and if a second parameter "P" appears on the line, it uses PoLink (with different resource files)
I was reading up on wikipedia's batch file entry, just before my Vista installation died, but I'm not sure how to do such a thing (I basically created a "Hello, World" .bat in notepad).
i am not sure what happened there
it may be a failure that is unique to vista
i have, so far, managed to avoid vista - lol
batch files are simple text files
let me dig up a 16-bit batch....
here is what i use for 16-bit code
@echo off
if "x%1"=="x" goto ascusage
if exist %1.asm goto ascasm
:ascusage
echo Usage: asc asmfile
echo "asmfile" = asmfile.asm
goto batchexit
:ascasm
if exist %1.obj del %1.obj
c:\masm32\bin\ml /c %1.asm >c:\masm32\bin\asmbl.txt
if errorlevel 1 goto showtxt
if exist %1.exe del %1.exe
c:\masm32\bin\Lnk563 %1.obj; >>c:\masm32\bin\asmbl.txt
:showtxt
if exist %1.obj del %1.obj
type c:\masm32\bin\asmbl.txt
:batchexit
dir %1.*
notice that my 16-bit linker is named "Lnk563.exe"
here - i made one for you that uses "Link16.exe"
unzip this and put the BAT file in the masm32\bin folder (that folder should be in your path variable)
then, if you want to assemble "My16Code.asm", just type
a16 My16Code
at the command prompt
Thanks! I just got it now (it's 4 am and I gotta wake up at 8) so I'll make sure to check it out tomorrow (or today? lol). The reason for my being awake at this hour: Java project. For NEXT week. LOL. I love to code, but sometimes I take it too far...
FINALLY back. I tried it (the a16 assembler) but I'm confused as to what it does... does it assemble AND link the file, or does it just assemble?
well - the assembler is ML.exe (older ones were named MASM.exe)
the assembler generates an object file (.OBJ)
the linker is named LINK.exe (or Link16 or Lnk563)
the linker can take one or more object files and create an executable
the batch file just saves you some typing
it assembles, then links
you should google around a little and familiarize yourself with batch files
Ok, thanks!