MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

How to start. (x64 Win/Linux)

Started by deitysou, July 17, 2008, 09:23:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

deitysou

Hi,

within the last years I tried to learn Assembler... but I had no time to investigate enough time.
But now the time has come.  :cheekygreen:

I've got a few questions 'cause I need to start from the scratch.
1. Which Assembler:
  MASM?
  NASM?
  I want to develope software for Windows and Linux. I guess (and that's what I've read) MASM is only supported for Windows?
  Please tell me if I'm wrong.
  So I should prefere NASM? Also I'm a practiced Delphi programmer? Shall I use TASM? 
2. Tools:
  Can you suggest some tools I should use? (Win/Lin)
3. Tutorials:
  I need alot of them =)
  Also for Windows and Linux

Kind regards

(Sorry for my english but I'm not a native speaker. Please correct my grammatical mistakes.)

japheth

> 1. Which Assembler:
>   MASM?
>   NASM?
>   I want to develope software for Windows and Linux. I guess (and that's what I've read) MASM is only supported for Windows?
>  Please tell me if I'm wrong.
>  So I should prefere NASM?

Yes.

> 2. Tools:
>  Can you suggest some tools I should use? (Win/Lin)

I don't know ... an editor to write the assembly source perhaps? ... and a linker to link your programs?

> 3. Tutorials:
>   I need alot of them =)
>   Also for Windows and Linux

Why not start with the docs and samples supplied with NASM?

1rDirEctoALgran0

Keep in mind that there is NASM clone like YASM. (Far better than NASM)
Take a look also on GoAsm, GoRC and GoLink (They are my favorites, but Windows only...)
Do you want absolutely a multi-platform assembler ? (The most can be the worst)

Patrick

dsouza123

A very good choice is FASM, from the site: http://flatassembler.net/

"... the flat assembler - the open source assembly language compiler for x86 and x86-64 processors