News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Is GoAsm right for me?

Started by jetrii, May 10, 2008, 05:04:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jetrii

I've been programming for around 6 years and while I've always wanted to learn assembly, I never really got the chance. I've made some attempts before but I always abandoned it due to work/not enough time to invest in it. I finally have enough free time to dive head first into Asm  :toothy

GoAsm seems like a great assembler but I have a few questions/concerns:
1.) What is the community support like? Are the tutorials listed in the Goasm thread the only ones available?
2.) How easy is it to move from GoAsm to Fasm/Masm and vice versa.
3.) I will be mainly programming Windows UI applications (OCing tools and monitors). Are there any alternatives to GoAsm that are better suited for this?

Thanks in advance :)

jorgon

Hi jetrii

I think the main thing about assembler programming, particularly for Windows, is that it is fun.  And to me it is fun because it gives you complete control without silly baggage.  If you like that idea then the "Go" tools are for you, but other assemblers also do a similar job at making things fun eg. FASM, NASM.

To answer your specific questions:-

1. Community support is pretty good I think, everyone helps and I'm always here too.  If I'm ever not here for one reason or another I'll release the source.  The tutorials should be sufficient to get you going.  Once you've got the assembler basics, then that's about it - problems arising tend to be with Windows programming rather than with assembler.