Whats wrong with general purpose register

Started by Khurram, October 08, 2006, 06:35:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

eek

If you are a total newbie then I recommend this integrated 16 bit interpreter/debugger/compiler

http://www.btinternet.com/~btketman/tutpage.html

Its an interactive asm tutorial that does most 16bit stuff and will at least let you see what is going on as you write, you can run and change stuff without compiling the code because it's an interpreter.

Synfire

a. @data is a directive which is used by MASM to represent the .data segment.

b. Because that is how the intel opcodes are designed. Try using this, from Biterider's OA32 package:
m2m macro DstMem:req, SrcMem:req, Reg
    ifb <Reg>
      push SrcMem
      pop DstMem
    else
      mov Reg, SrcMem
      mov DstMem, Reg
    endif
endm

that way, you can use 'm2m ds, @data' to preform the push/pop version, or use 'm2m ds, @data, ax'
   to use the AX register to move them.

c. Like I said above, there is no opcode for it, so you have to either use the push/pop method or move
   through AX method.

d. AX, like you mentioned before, is the prefered opcode. But you can use any of the general purpose
   registers such as BX, CX, or DX if you want. It's just customary to use AX.

Regards,
Bryant Keller

MichaelW

Khurram,

If you were to try and move a constant into a segment register, for example with either of these instructions:

mov ds, @data
mov ds, 123

MASM would return "error A2070: invalid instruction operands" because the processor does not have an instruction that can do this. If you were to look in the opcodes.hlp file that is included in the MASM32 package, at the MOV instruction, you would see only two forms of the instruction where a segment register is the destination operand:

mov segreg, reg16
mov segreg, mem16

But when the destination operand is a general-purpose register you would see three forms:

mov reg, reg
mov reg, mem
mov reg, immed