News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Programming MMORPG's

Started by Scorpie, February 11, 2005, 09:06:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scorpie

Hi, im fairly new to this board and also no expert in asm but Programming MMORPG's is a topic that interests me, i also had a topic about this subject on Win32asmboard but only one person replyed so i reposted (and reprashed) it here.

I started learning OpenGL a few days ago now and i only covert the basic theory about networking (haven't experimented with it yet) so this wont be a topic in which you will follow the progress of a mmorpg development.

Why this topic, im thinking about (after i learned how to make good use of the Winsock api) building a small 'world' in which players can walk around (just to learn more about networking and OpenGL) but i do want to try to build it in a way that it would be expandable for more players, bigger world etc so thats why i opened this topic, i want to discuss the theory about developing mmorpg's so please feel free to make suggestions :)

well that's my introduction to the topic, i hope its clear enough and doenst have too much gramatical mistakes in it.

(ill keep this post as an introduction and make my first post on this topic under this one)

Scorpie

well the thing im worying most about is how to devide the coding, what to make serversided and which code is best to make clientsided.
And how to keep the data that needs to be send over the network to a minimum.

ill lay down a little what kind of system im thinking about, please feel free to comment, argue or add info (thats what this topic is supose to be for)

I think keeping the character/user database on the serverside because of security issues (item, level cheating etc)
Every client has a the worldmap including all the static objects (like rocks which never will be moved etc).