News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

how to use qeditor

Started by LouisStDubois, May 17, 2007, 03:12:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LouisStDubois

Is the Hutch that I see posting THE Steve Hutchesson?  If so, can you enlighten me on how to use your QEditor?  If not, can anyone tell me how?  I'm new to MASM and have been attempting to penetrate it at the 16 bit level til now.  I have MASM32 and am at the tutorial level trying out the seven examples given in the package, but I can't seem to succeed with "Build this with the 'Project' menu using 'Console Assemble and Link.'"  I've entered the code in the QEditor but am at a loss as to what to do from there and the help menu doesn't really tell much about how to use the QEditor.  It seems to be a matter of too many options for me to assimilate.  Thanks for any help. Louis

Tedd

Yeah, that's him (just don't tell the cops)

type in the code
save it to a file, e.g. "test.asm" (must end with .asm, and make sure the full path to the file has no spaces in)
Project -> Console Assemble & Link
..et voila..
you should have an exe in the same folder as your asm source
No snowflake in an avalanche feels responsible.

LouisStDubois

O.K. I'm back and feeling kinda retarded.  When I go to the project menu and click on console assemble and link I get the "no file loaded" notice, however in the file menu I can't find anything but load script and that takes me to the directory for the MASM32 package (which is pretty slick by the way).  I've got my source code filed with an .asm but can't figure out how to get it loaded.  I guess I'm just a command prompt kind of a guy.  Thanks.  Louis

MichaelW