MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

inline asm

Started by hunt@masm, March 19, 2007, 06:42:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hunt@masm

Hi All,

I am new to asm, so if my question is silly please forgive me to waste your time.

I used to run C/C++ under VS and just start to try asm as I hope it can help to scratch my own back. I am wondering should I include prolog and epilog into my "__asm { }" block?
    someFunc Proc
    push    ebp
    mov    ebp, esp   ; end prolog
   :
    mov    esp, ebp   ; start epilog
    pop    ebp
    ret
    someFunc endP
As I have read few samples from MSDN and the web, and found no one wrote them, but not sure.
please help,

Hunt Chang :P

Vortex

Welcome on board.

If use naked functions, you don't need to deal with prologue \ epilogue code :

#include <stdio.h>

int __declspec(naked) __stdcall sum(int a, int b)
{
__asm{
mov eax,[esp+4]
add eax,[esp+8]
ret 8
}
}

int main()
{
printf("70 + 30 = %d",sum(70,30));
return 0;
}

Naturally, you can use here the C calling convention instead of STDCALL

Personnaly, I would suggest you to write Masm procedures to be linked with your VC++ main module. If I am not wrong, inline asm can interfere with the C code optimization.

zooba

Quote from: Vortex on March 19, 2007, 07:41:03 PM
If I am not wrong, inline asm can interfere with the C code optimization.

Perfectly correct. A method that includes inline assembly code will not be optimised at all by some compilers (including the MS variety). Presumably the idea is that you either implement the entire function in optimised assembly or let the compiler do it. I think a fair assumption is that all variables are moved back to memory for an _asm block, even if they were stored in registers up until then.

Cheers,

Zooba :U

hunt@masm

Thanks to Vortex and Zooba, both of your responses are impressively fast, thank you.