News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Twos complement and the CF (carry flag)

Started by lutherbaker, January 29, 2007, 05:07:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lutherbaker

I am a newbie ... self-studying Kip Irvine's 4th edition assembly book using Visual Studio 2005 and MASM 8.0. I may have mistyped an example program into my compiler - but assuming not ...

I've got a basic handle on binary numbers and twos complement notation - but I have a question about the CARRY FLAG.

Since the CF is really only relevant for unsigned operations ??? I assume it looks at each transaction as though it were being carried out on unsigned values.

So, since "sub" is implemented as adding the twos complement, why does the CF=1 (carry flag get set to 1) when subtracting 90h from 80h and not when adding 70h to 80h?

Aren't they the same from an unsigned perspective? Nothing gets carried ... what is the CPU doing when subtracting 90h from 80h that it knows to mark the CF=1?

80h + 70h = F0h, CF=0
that is
1000 0000 + 0111 0000 = 1111 0000

but

80h - 90h = F0h, CF=1
that is
90h => 1001 0000 => 0110 1111 + 0000 0001 => 0111 0000
so
80h - 90h = 80h + 70h = F0h.

Why does the CARRY FLAG = 1?

Thanks in advance,

-Luher

TNick

Welcome aboard!!

Intel® 64 and IA-32 Architectures Software Developer's Manuals will be your friends. You have a comprehensive explanation for each instruction in there.

Quote from: Intel® 64 and IA-32 Architectures Software Developer's ManualsSubtracts the second operand (source operand) from the first operand (destination
operand) and stores the result in the destination operand. The destination operand
can be a register or a memory location; the source operand can be an immediate,
register, or memory location. (However, two memory operands cannot be used in one
instruction.) When an immediate value is used as an operand, it is sign-extended to