MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

allocating memory on-the-fly

Started by lianergoist, December 12, 2006, 07:51:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

lianergoist

Hi

I am new to assembly, but do know the basic stuff. I would like to know how I can allocate memory "on-the-fly" like I do with malloc in C (the first 640 KB is fine).

I know how I can set aside memory with BUFFER DB 64000 DUP(?), but it may be more or less than what I need. Is it possible to allocate  memory on-the-fly?

Thomas

MichaelW

Hi Thomas,

Yes it is possible. Take a look at Interrupt 21h, functions 48h (Allocate Memory), 49h (Free Allocated Memory), and 4Ah (Set Memory Block Size). And for more control, function 5800h (Get Allocation Strategy) and 5801h (Set Allocation Strategy). If you do not already have a reference, search this forum for a link to Ralf Brown's Interrupt List.

BTW, the loader normally allocates all or most of the available memory to a program, so prior to allocating memory you must determine the actual size of the program and use function 4Ah to shrink the program's allocation. You could use the memory as initially allocated, but to do so you would still need to determine the actual size of the program, determine where the end of the allocated memory is, and calculate the segment address of the memory, so you really would not gain anything. Refer to recent posts (IIRC) in this forum for example code.
eschew obfuscation

dncprogrammer

What about calculating available memory with out DOS functions?
jon

lianergoist

Yes it is possible. Take a look at Interrupt 21h, functions 48h (Allocate Memory), 49h (Free Allocated Memory), and 4Ah (Set Memory Block Size). And for more control, function 5800h (Get Allocation Strategy) and 5801h (Set Allocation Strategy). If you do not already have a reference, search this forum for a link to Ralf Brown's Interrupt List.