News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

serial port buffers

Started by redskull, October 04, 2006, 04:24:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

redskull

I'm new to the process of treating comm ports like files, so some windows serial port methodology escapes me.  Does serial port input get stored in a buffer, and then read out of the buffer using ReadFile?  If so, does it work something like Console input buffers?  Hypothetically, if I opened a connection, and input came in, but I never used ReadFile, would it just stack up in there indefinitly?  If I set all the time-outs to zero, and make a call to readfile, and no data has come in, will it just stay hung in the ReadFile function until something does?  If I only read in 1 byte, and 4 bytes have come in, will the other three be there waiting for me later?  Does 'asynchronous' (overlapped) file i/o have anything at all to do with 'asynchronous' serial port operation?  Am I anywhere near the right track?

as always, you guys are awesome for putting up with such ridiculous questions.

alan
Strange women, lying in ponds, distributing swords, is no basis for a system of government

agathon

Hi,