MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Question: Serial Port Programming methods

Started by dicky96, August 28, 2006, 02:38:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dicky96

Hi guys
Decided to put this one in the workshop rather than the Campus (maybe I'm learning, maybe I'm just getting ahead of myself.....)

My current win32 project (I'm a hobbyist programmer, not a professional) involves communicating with an external device on the serial port. The device sends binary data, I need to get that data, process it and respond back via the serial port.  My question is what is the best method to implement this? 

I have some info about data, and that may help work out the best method:

1. I have the rs232 parameters (baud rate, bits, parity etc) these are fixed

2. The data is binary and variable length (but generally 200 byte ish) 

3. The data follows a specific format, for instance the second byte of each data packet always specifies the length of the data packet

4. The data comes in "packets" several times a minute

5. It may occur that I get a new data packet before I finished dealing with the previous one

I've done some reading around, it would appear the best strategy (to me anyway,but then I'm a novice) would be something like this:  Initialise the com port settings and open the port in my main thread (when the user clicks the "connect" button) and use "worker" threads to send and recieve serial information.  When the User clicks "disconnect" close the worker threads and com port.

However there are plenty things I'm not sure about.   

Like how to know when the data was all received, should the "recieve" thread use that length byte to see if all the packet arrived?
How best to handle errors in received data - should the receive thread handle all that, or should it pass any received data, regardless of it's integrity, to the main thread which then deals with it?