News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Segments and Offsets?

Started by ambir, March 28, 2006, 10:32:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ambir

Sorry but I am VERY new to ASM. the only thing i haven't figured out as yet is how the segments and offsets work.  i think they are like pointers but i'm not sure so help me out some plz.

i think they are suppose to be someting like:

xxxx:xxxx (with numbers ofcourse) ( i think it has something to do with 16, but what do i know, i'm a know nothing )

but i'm not sure how they work, why they work and when do people use them? examples (small or long) would be nice too plz :green2

Thank You

MichaelW

This subject belongs in the 16-bit DOS Programming forum, and I will be moving it there shortly.

This is recycled from an old tutorial I wrote:

The memory in a PC is arranged as a one-dimensional array of bytes. The bytes are numbered sequentially starting at 0. This number is referred to as a "physical address". When the processor accesses memory, it uses the physical address to specify the memory location. The entire range of physical addresses that the processor can generate is referred to as its "address space".

The 8086 and 8088 were 16-bit processors with 20-bit address spaces. Intel's solution to the problem of generating a 20-bit physical address with a processor that could directly manipulate values no larger than 16 bits was to use a "logical" address that consisted of two 16-bit components. The first component is a "segment" address and the second component is an "offset" address. To generate a 20-bit physical address, the processor (effectively) shifts the segment address left by 4 bits and adds it to the offset address.