MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Setting variables

Started by MattVonFat, March 14, 2006, 05:55:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MattVonFat

Hi.

I'm new to assember but I have programmed in different languages before. My question is, hopefully, very simple. Do I have to put all the strings I plan to use in the data section?

I wanted a MessageBox to display either 'True' or 'False' depending on whether a function returned (I've been trying to get some resource thing working in every language I know so I wanted to see if it worked in assembler) and I tried having an empty string stored in the data? section and setting it to either True or False in an If statement. I tried:
mov BoxText, "True" and
push "True"
pop BoxText

But neither of them work. (I also tried using '=' because it was late at night and I slipped back in to my old ways  ::))

Is there a way of doing this or do I have to declare variables that hold True and False and use them?

Thanks,

Matthew

asmfan

no you dont, because there are .const, .data, .code sections to put any data (the first and last only for reading) besides you can use resources to hold the readable data including strings.
Russia is a weird place

AsmER

MattVonFat,

In assembler, you must put all your data (strings, constants etc) in special section called .data or .data? if they are not initialised.
So your "true" and "false" strings should be defined in .data like follows:
.data
True     BYTE   "True",0
False     BYTE   "False",0

All text variables must be ended with NULL sign in Windows (if you want MessageBox to show only the text which you want to show).