MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Looking for dll for text search

Started by Rainstorm, March 07, 2006, 04:53:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rainstorm

Hi

I didn't know where exactly on this board to make this post..
hope it isn't in the wrong place.
I'm not really a programmer.
I'm a fan of assembly programmed apps & have used some neat apps written in assembly.
I haven't gone any farther than reading about it & some tutorials.

I'm looking for a dll that will search text files very fast..
A dll that can be used by Mirc...to do the searches

I have written a few scripts in Mirc & a search function is one of the things..in them.
The text files are around  5Mbytes on an average.. but may be more.

Actually I have written scripts for searching text files in Mirc, & experimented
writing the scripts in different ways sometimes using different functions.. to do
the same search,..but it still, can really get quite slow on certain searches.. :'(
am looking for a dll that can do the searches very fast..
Hence my reason for this post :)
Its purely for my personal use..& the script is used for quoting text & doing searches of
large files in the channels i am on,...on IRC..

Would much appreciate any suggestions & feed back...

Thanks a lot.

Rainstorm

Mark Jones

Hello Rainstorm, and welcome to the group.

Would you be interested in making your own .DLL to do this, getting help from us in the process? You did say you've looked at the MASM32 package somewhat. Or are you hoping someone has made something like this already? Because generally here our motto is "we'll help you answer questions about your project but no hand-outs." :wink