News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

IO using INT 21h?

Started by jmccaffrey, January 25, 2006, 07:22:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jmccaffrey

Is it possible to perform console IO using Int 21h under Windows XP?  I'm a MASM32 newbie.  I've successfully assembled and linked the "Hello World" example which looks something like:

; some code up here . . . .

start:                          ; The CODE entry point to the program

print chr$("Hey ho, this actually works.",13,10)
    exit

; «««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««««

end start                       ; Tell MASM where the program ends

From snooping around, it looks like the IO is being performed by a call to a Windows API function.  That's cool but is it possible to perform console IO under Windows XP using an Int 21h along the lines of:

.data

msg db 'Hello World', '$'

.code

mov ah, 09h
lea dx, msg
int 21h

When I add this code to the working program above, when I attempt to execuite the resulting .exe, the program throws a fatal error.  Can you show me a working program that prints a message using Int 21h?  Thanks!

JM

MichaelW

Hello JM, welcome to the forum.

You can use the Interrupt 21h functions from a DOS program running under Windows, but not from a Windows program.

eschew obfuscation

IAO

Hi to all:
My english is poor. But try.

Quote from: jmccaffrey on January 25, 2006, 07:22:29 PM
  Can you show me a working program that prints a message using Int 21h?  Thanks!

If you use the RADASM IDE, looks inside the directory: Radasm\Masm\Projects\Dos\LnkStub
There you have 3 examples.
Open readme.txt, and open lnkstub.asm, read these files.

Escuseme the errors

www.radasm.com

By(t)e ('_')
"There is no way to peace. Peace is the way."    Mahatma Gandhi

BytePtr

Quote from: jmccaffrey on January 25, 2006, 07:22:29 PM
Is it possible to perform console IO using Int 21h under Windows XP?