News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Flicker, DirectDraw, WaitForVerticalBlank

Started by Jimg, October 26, 2005, 04:16:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jimg

I just spent the last week and a half trying to cure flicker problems in a dialog with a dozen edit boxes.  The problem occurs when the user resized the dialog and I internally resize the edit boxes to fit  ( along with some labels and group boxes).

I tried all the usual fixes to no avail.  Then I found some code by MichaelW designed to reduce tearing in a graphics app.  After first resizing all the controls without updating the screen, then using the directdraw function GetScanLine to wait for the vertical retrace/blanking and then doing an invalidaterect of the whole dialog solved the problem.

I have several questions about the code though-

I've never used directdraw before, and the information is very confusing.

First, this structure is created:

.data
    lpdd_1      dd 0
    scanLine    dd 0
    maxScanLine dd 0
    vbStart     dd 0
    vbEnd       dd 0
    temp        dd 0

Then a call to-
invoke DirectDrawCreate,NULL,ADDR lpdd_1,NULL

1. Does this create something that I have to ultimately delete before terminating my program to avoid memory leaks?

Next, there is a proc included that looks like this:

DDGetScanLine proc lpScanLine:DWORD

push  lpScanLine
    push  lpdd_1
    mov   eax, lpdd_1
    mov   eax, [eax]
    call  DWORD PTR[eax+DDO_GetScanLine]
    ret

DDGetScanLine endp

Which is always called with-

invoke DDGetScanLine, ADDR scanLine

2.  Is the relative locations of the data variables defined above important?  That is, is it a structure of some kind, or just a collection of variables?

Next, the following code is executed:

mov   ebx, 100000
    .WHILE (ebx)
        .IF (eax == DD_OK)
            mov   eax, scanLine
            .IF (eax > maxScanLine)
                mov   maxScanLine, eax
            .ENDIF