News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Win32 magnifier development problems

Started by iAPX86, July 22, 2005, 07:32:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

iAPX86

I must build a super-efficient windows magnifier program.  It must pick up a small rectangle of pixels from underneath the magnifier window, which must track the mouse, and stretch it to its own larger rectangular window.  It must continue performing this operation nonstop to redisplay movies running in Microsoft Windows Media Player (WMP) without slowing WMP down.

As a mathematician, I have been exploring a new model for visual processing by nervous systems.  It has already successfully demonstrated characteristics known to experimental psychologists but not achieved using even the most sophisticated published image transform techniques.  For instance, I can discriminate three points from their diffraction pattern when the distance apart is less than 1/10th Airy disk radius, and the image contains only the first two rings, plus a bit of the third.

My goal is to perform transforms on the pixel buffer after picking it up and prior to stretching it onto the larger window.  The transforms are many layers deep (over 20 layers).  Some of the transforms are quite commonplace, such as convolving the image with an averaging window.  Others are harder to describe, but involve various distribution and collection strategies.  The combination of transforms is very expensive to calculate.  I have had some success with C++ valarrays, but covet the improvement I know can be had from assembler.  I am aiming to have a frame rate of about 20 to 40 frames per second with a window size of about 256 by 256.