MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

assembler in mondern times

Started by dog, February 22, 2011, 07:12:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dog

Hi,

It's been almost ten years, now, that I work as a teacher of computer science. Lately I've been assigned "algorithms" which is a subject I enjoy greatly.

For demonstration purposes, I've presented the same algorithm in a couple of different languages like pascal, c++ and java, so that my students can see the differences.

All of the sudden, I have an interest to play with all the different languages I have programmed in earlier times, refresh my rusty knowledge.

In MS-DOS times I have programmed with Turbo Assembler, too. I have spent long hours in front of my pc, together with "Programming for MS-DOS" and Swan's "Mastering Turbo Assembler", running my tasm compiler over and over, checking with my debugger the memory and the registers in step-by-step execution.

I'd like to try and make some simple programs with keyboard/screen input/output. So, I'd like to know what is the state of assembler in windows times. My system is WinXP32. What is the best assembler for XP? Is there a friendly programming environment? Is there online documentation with examples and simple programs? Is MASM what I need?

(not sure whether I post in the right subforum)
Dimitris

jj2007

Hello Dimitris,
Welcome to the Forum. You should download and install the Masm32 package (see Tips & Tricks in my signature), and start playing with simple Win32 console mode programs. Below is a little Hello World programme:

include \masm32\include\masm32rt.inc

.code
start: inkey "Hello Dimitris"
exit

end start

And we love algorithms here, so your ideas will be welcome :thumbu

Vortex

Hi  Dimitris,

As jj2007 stated, have a look at the Masm SDK :

http://masm32.com

There are other choices like Masm compatible assemblers Pelle's Poasm and Japheth's Jwasm.

redskull