MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

primitive type check in MASM?

Started by Ani_Skywalker, July 21, 2010, 05:56:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ani_Skywalker

Hi everybody,

I am a beginner that started MASM coding after I speed-read "The Art of Assembly Language" and "Introduction to 80x86 assembly language". Speed-read means I scooped interesting topics, read some 500 pages and so on. My problem is that I understand much better when I get to code then when I read page after page.

So, I am trying to build a basic calculator available to perform the 4 basic operands (+,-,*,/). So far, It's been going over exceptions, but not without some questions popping up, so here it goes:

; assume all the necessary includes are done and so on.

.data?
var1 dd, 0
var2 dd, 0

.code

start:

mov var1, sval(input("Enter the first number: "))
    mov var2, sval(input("Enter the second number: "))
    print chr$(13,10)
    print str$(var1)
    print chr$(' ')
    print str$(var2)
    print chr$(13,10,13,10)

xor eax, eax

add eax, var1
    add eax, var2

print str$(eax)
    print chr$(13,10,13,10)

mov eax, input("Press 'Enter' to exit. ")

exit

Questions:

1. Is there a way to _easy_ provide some kind of primitive-type check like those in high level languages to see if the user-input truly is an integer? If not, how do we do it the hard way then? We parse the input char by char and check if it is a number between 0-9?

2. I tried to add var1 and var2 to each other, like this: mov var1, var2. It did not compile and I guessed a register was the way to go, now I wonder, why is that so? Why is it not possible to add the two variables without adding them to a register?

3. Any other suggestions to my code?

As soon as I learn how to do type-control I move on to add the other operands and then a way to choose between the operands.

Thank you for your time!

ecube