News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Possible problems with SSE usage.

Started by KeepingRealBusy, July 07, 2010, 12:57:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Queue

Yes, and I've done hex comparisons, byte-for-byte. I'm definitely working with the same version of ML as you.

Queue

sinsi

Any alignment of the stack beyond the default 4 bytes will have to be done with some sort of code, a custom prologue for example, you can't just automatically align it.
If that was the case then we poor ml64 users would have it a lot easier...
Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem bright until you hear them.

KeepingRealBusy

Sinsi,

Thank you for the information. That is exactly what I did, but wondered what else could be done to eliminate the 3 instructions it takes to do this.

Dave.

Quote from: Greg Lyon on July 12, 2010, 04:59:15 AM
Well now I know where I stand.  :wink

I am not an expert at SSE, but what's wrong with ALIGN 16 to align the LOCALs?

Greg,

ALIGN 16 is an assembly time directive, it just adjusts the address at which the next data or instruction will be located, and in the case of instructions, it pads the code with dummy instructions that do not affect either the registers or the flags (instructions like lea ebx,[ebx]). What I needed was something to reserve space in the stack, and also something to selectively, at execution time, select the actual stack address to use for an aligned store (movdqa). It turns out that you must do this yourself since the stack can be aligned differently at each call.

I guess I will have to time this both ways, using code to align for a movdqa, or no code and use movdqu.

Dave.

GregL

Dave,

I see, I thought you wanted to align the OWORD data variables. Sorry, I misunderstood.

dedndave Dave,

I was kidding, hence the wink.  I am not as sharp as I used to be, some of these guys run circles around me.

dedndave