MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

IF-OR-THEN-ELSE construction

Started by Herakles, May 02, 2010, 02:09:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Herakles

Hi everybody! :U

I am using PCSpim and I have to do an exercise which really drives me crazy:

"Translate the following program fragment into MIPS code ($t0 must contain the variable a).

IF (a < 0) OR (a > 99) THEN
   a := a - 10;
ELSE
   a := a - 1;
END;

Please note: the expression a > 99 will be only analysed in case a < 0 is false."

Since I am totally new to SPIM, I have no idea how to implement this exercise.
I think a XOR construction is necessary and they don't ask for a whole working program, but only for a specific fragment. So I would write:

main:   xor   (bltz a), (bgt a, 99)

then:

But the compiler gives me a syntax error right after xor.

Can you please help me?

I really appreciate that.

Regards,
Herakles.

Slugsnack

From what I remember of MIPS conditionals can be implemented by comparing a register to the zero register then doing conditional branching based on that. So subtract the two things you want to test for equality and compare the result. If you have problems later I'll write some code for you. Give it a go and post up here :)

You don't need a XOR. Just test the first condition. If true, branch to the IF code. If not, test the second condition. If that one is true, branch to the IF code again. Else, fall through to the ELSE code. Simple as that ^_^

Do you need a 'template' for a SPIM program at all ? A fully working program is not hard to produce at all.

In MIPs you do not put operands in brackets. Also you can not xor two instructions either.. Instructions are performed one at a time. Try to implement it as I described.

Herakles

Quote from: Slugsnack on May 02, 2010, 02:19:33 PM