MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Setting focus to text area

Started by fel0n, March 23, 2010, 03:41:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

fel0n

Hello MASM forum,

I am new to assembly and this forum! I have question about setting focus to a text area and then copying it.

I have Dialog with three text areas. First is user-input, second is output and third is output. I have .if statements setup to handle the button pressing. I originally only had one data field, so I was able to copy it with no problem specifying a certain dig item. However I added a second output and now I want to have it copy the selected string. I'm not very sure how I can specify which text area was selected last.

So far I have this:

.elseif eax==IDC_COPY
.if eax== 1003
invoke SendDlgItemMessage,hWnd,1003,EM_SETSEL,0,-1
invoke SendDlgItemMessage,hWnd,1003,WM_COPY,0,0
.elseif eax==1009
invoke SendDlgItemMessage,hWnd,1009,EM_SETSEL,0,-1
invoke SendDlgItemMessage,hWnd,1009,WM_COPY,0,0
         .endif
.elseif eax==IDC_EXIT
invoke SendMessage,hWnd,WM_CLOSE,0,0

I added else/if statement to eax == selected area? However this did not work.

Any help is appreciated!

-fel0n

joemc

If you handle WM_SETFOCUS it's wParam contains the handle to the window that lost focus.

or you could use WM_KILLFOCUS and the handle that comes as the first parameter.

I personally would handle KILLFOCUS in the winproc of the edit's and store it in a variable only if it is one of the two edits...

This application sounds tricky to use without a mouse... i would also put a hot key for the button press because getting there by pressing tab will cause issues.  Unless all this button is doing is CTRL-A CTRL-C. I like being able to use the keyboard.   Just an opinion.

someone

i don't know if i'm right, but you should store the hWnd of the edit controls when you create them
then when the IDC_COPY message is called