MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Few doubts in WinMain fuction parameters

Started by b0nd, January 19, 2010, 09:34:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

b0nd

Hello All,

Ok, first of all the declaration that I am new to assembly and has started with some basic tutorials and iczelion's series and using masm and radasm.

I've highlighted the code where I've doubt and has deleted much of the code to keep post shorter.

[u]WinMain proto :DWORD,:DWORD,:DWORD,:DWORD[/u]   <---------------- Here

.data?
   hInstance HINSTANCE ?
   CommandLine LPSTR ?

.code

start:
invoke GetModuleHandle, NULL
mov    hInstance,eax

[u]invoke WinMain, hInstance,NULL,CommandLine, SW_SHOWDEFAULT[/u]   <------------------------- Here
invoke ExitProcess,eax

WinMain proc hInst:HINSTANCE,hPrevInst:HINSTANCE,CmdLine:LPSTR,CmdShow:DWORD
LOCAL wc:WNDCLASSEX
LOCAL msg:MSG
LOCAL hwnd:HWND

mov   wc.cbSize,SIZEOF WNDCLASSEX
mov   wc.style, CS_HREDRAW or CS_VREDRAW
mov   wc.lpfnWndProc, OFFSET WndProc
mov   wc.cbClsExtra,NULL
mov   wc.cbWndExtra,NULL
      [u]  push  hInstance  [/u]                                   <-----------------------------    Here
pop   wc.hInstance

invoke RegisterClassEx, addr wc
INVOKE CreateWindowEx,NULL,ADDR ClassName,ADDR AppName,\
           WS_OVERLAPPEDWINDOW,CW_USEDEFAULT,\
           CW_USEDEFAULT,CW_USEDEFAULT,CW_USEDEFAULT,NULL,NULL,\
           hInst,NULL
mov   hwnd,eax

[u]WndProc proc hWnd:HWND, uMsg:UINT, wParam:WPARAM, lParam:LPARAM[/u]   <--------------------- Here

.IF uMsg==WM_DESTROY
invoke PostQuitMessage,NULL
.ELSEIF uMsg==WM_CREATE
;
.ELSE
invoke DefWindowProc,hWnd,uMsg,wParam,lParam
ret
.ENDIF

xor eax,eax
ret
WndProc endp

end start