MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Please help a total newbie.

Started by starsarecrossed, April 16, 2009, 10:45:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

starsarecrossed

Hi!

I'm not really sure if this the right place where to ask this, but I am new to programming (assembling). I know only a few things such like how the counting is done (all thought, I have serious problems with math...), some registers and something about interrupts, but I'm not a keen on what, how and when, exactly to put in register. What I'm trying to do is to write my own boot loader/bootstrap, but I'm not sure how to write the code, it's a start of operating system, yes, but I do not need all the stuff about kernel (at least I guess), if I want only to make my own boot loader. And what's done if I want this to be done through USB... Is there any source for a nut like I am?

My goal is to make the screen goes black, then white, then the text appears and that's about it.
Thank for any kind of advices on this one, and please don't laugh at me. Maybe this is too much for a newbie...

FORTRANS

Hi,

See the alt.os.development usenet group, use Google Groups if
you don't have a news provider.  Search for terms you need help
with and use its FAQ.  Or just browse the postings.  Fun, if a bit
thick at times.

I would start by writing DOS programs in the COM format to do
the actions that you plan to see your boot loader do, using only
BIOS functions.  That should give you a skeleton to convert into
a OS independent version.  And let you work out stack requirements,
video modes, and the like.

HTH,

Steve N.

SteveCurtis

Quote from: starsarecrossed on April 16, 2009, 10:45:26 PM
Hi!