dedndave

another program i use for stuff like this is 7-zip
you can use your cd burner program to make an ISO image of a bootable cd
then, use 7-zip to extract all the files from the ISO
when you do, it creates the boot IMG file for you
once you have that, you may delete the ISO and other extracted files

http://www.7-zip.org/

redskull

Bootable CD's are a lot different than bootable floppy/usb/drive, read through the spec at http://www.phoenix.com/NR/rdonlyres/98D3219C-9CC9-4DF5-B496-A286D893E36A/0/specscdrom.pdf.  It has to be in a special track, and I think instead of 512 it has to be around 2000?  Again, I have no knowledge.  As far as virtual boxes, I'm no expert; perhaps the easiest thing to do might be to just install DOS virtually, and then write over the boot sector of the 'virtual hard drive' itself, which i assume could be done from debug.exe under dos under a VM under windows (that's a mouthful)  I assume you don't have a floppy drive, or spare second hard drive?

-r
Strange women, lying in ponds, distributing swords, is no basis for a system of government

dedndave

that is for el torito - he doesn't want that, i don't think
still a lot of good material in there

MichaelW

At least up to 2003 the Adaptec and later Roxio CD-burning applications had the capability of creating bootable CDs in multiple formats.
eschew obfuscation

dedndave

most cd burner programs do - on some of em, you have to look for it - lol
i lucked into CDBurnerXP - it is written by a Swede who is very good
he is continually updating it and adding features/formats
it is good for cd's and dvd's
and - the price is right - $0

there are a lot of good boot images out there
hirens - barts pe - etc
windows IMG is a bit tricky to burn, but it can be easily modified to suit your needs and can be found all over the place

i am trying to figure out what this guy is trying to do - lol
when someone says they want to write an OS, i begin to wonder