News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

A complete newbie and his questions.

Started by Valliko, May 02, 2009, 01:51:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GregL

I agree that you should learn 32-bit first, then look into 64-bit and don't bother with 16-bit unless you have a specific need for it. 

x64 Windows is quickly becoming the standard on new PCs, but since the WOW64 emulator runs 32-bit programs very well (although a little bit slower), you've got plenty time to learn 32-bit first.  I think knowing x64 assembly language will be a good skill to have.

Valliko

Hey everyone.

So MASM is going quite good, been following Iczelion's tutorial now, and playing with the IF / WHILE loops in MASM a little bit on my own  :U

Anyways, i still feel quite confused on Assembler, the main reason why i created this thread was wheter or not there is only one assembler language to each processor, or if there is (as it seems to me) a load of different languages to a load of different assemblers.

How is it really? I've always believed that if you're on an Intel processor and you program Assembly, you write the x86 Assembly language and NOTHING else. Yet you can't write MASM on FASM, or FASM on NASM etc... why is that? And what Assembler uses the one and only x86 language then? xD

Thanks.

Valliko

I think i realised now that even thou there are some major, or minor differences between all those Assemblers they all use the x86 Instruction Set, am i right?
Then, in MASM's case, there is MASM macros, invoke for example? :D

What about the WHILE / IF loops? Are those macros too? How does a While loop look in pure assembly?

Thanks.

dedndave

First, you should understand the difference between "machine language" and assembler.
Machine language is determined strictly by the processor being used.
There is one for the 8051, one for the 6805, one for the 8080, and so on.