News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Some basic assembly questions involving user input

Started by sharpnova, March 11, 2009, 09:54:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sharpnova

I'm trying to modify some sample codes to get a handle on ASM.

I don't have a problem with output, but I can't seem to get input working correctly.

How would I for example input a string from the user?

I've seen ReadString mentioned here and there but can't get any good documentation on how to implement this procedure that makes sense to a complete novice.

Also how could I input some integers? I want to have an array of integers that the user can input into but I don't even have a clue what command you use in ASM for inputting an integer.

PBrennick

sharpnova.

Also how could I input some integers? I want to have an array of integers that the user can input into but I don't even have a clue what command you use in ASM for inputting an integer.

Specifically, you don't. You would input characters that represent integers. Once you get the characters into a buffer or something, you process them into integers. It is easy to convert 37h to 7, for example.

Are you writing a console app? The answer to your first question would depend upon your answer to my question. If it is a console app, Hutch has already done the work for you. wait_key, for example, quickly comes to my mind but there is more than one method in his library. For a windows app, there is GetTextInput (I think).

Anyway, take a look at what he has in there. There is no sense in re-inventing the wheel.

Paul
The GeneSys Project is available from:
The Repository or My crappy website

ToutEnMasm

Hello,
How would I for example input a string from the user?
For this ,use a window and a dialog box with an edit control.

MichaelW

sharpnova,