News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

assembling in masm

Started by easton91, January 02, 2009, 04:57:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

easton91

I apologize for posting what may seem like such a trivial question, but I have never programmed in assembly before. I am very good with java, php, c++/obj-c so hopefully learning assembly will not be a huge feat. However, the issue I have now is not with assembler specific syntax (not yet anyway). The problem is with masm specific command line instructions for assembling/linking. I have installed the latest masm from the first us mirror and it installed successfully (or at least it said it did), however ml, masm(32), and asm(32) all will not assemble a small asm file. All help appreciated,

Easton91

ecube

:MAKE
\MASM32\BIN\ML /c /coff /Cp thefile.asm
\MASM32\BIN\link /SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWS /LIBPATH:c:\masm32\lib /SECTION:.text,RWX thefile.obj

ECHO.
PAUSE
CLS

just put the above as watever.bat in the same directory as thefile.asm to compile it.

heres a debug console build example

\masm32\bin\ml /c /coff /Zi thefile.asm
\masm32\bin\link /SUBSYSTEM:CONSOLE /DEBUG /DEBUGTYPE:CV thefile.obj
ECHO.
PAUSE
CLS

heres building with a resource example that deletes *.objs after

\MASM32\BIN\ML /c /coff /Cp thefile.asm
\MASM32\BIN\rc RSRC.rc
\MASM32\BIN\link /SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWS /LIBPATH:c:\masm32\lib /SECTION:.text,RWX thefile.obj RSRC.resĀ 
DEL *.OBJ
ECHO.
PAUSE
CLS

this stuff really should be in a masm quickstart guide or something, I got it from icezlion tuts long time ago and modified to my liking, you can also put your asm code in a .bat with the code above changed abit and self compile.

vanjast

Also the right files in the correct folders helps as well.
If you install in a folder other than the default "C:\masm32\" you have to change a lot of options.
Actually I haven't checked this with the latest masm - just installed defaultĀ  :red