News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Don't you just love assembly language.

Started by Damos, December 17, 2008, 09:28:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Damos

I have been programming now for over 20 years, mainly C & C++. I have spent lots of money on packages such as visual studio and text books. I found that programming in C++ very frustrating:
1. Theres too much behind the scenes stuff going on as in the common runtime libraries, and especially MFC.
2. Talk about bloated .exe's everything you program generates megabytes of binaries.
3. Programming with visual studio is not intuitive, you get good programmes going but you have no idea of how you got there or what exactly your program is doing.

I have been using masm32 & radasm now for just under a year and I have found the experience very satisfying
Ironically my productivity has gone up ten fold, I spend a lot less time debugging my code.
I say ironically because one of the main criticism of assembly was that it was supposed to be long winded, this, however has not been my experience.
I have learned so much about the windows sdk since programming in assembly, and I still haven't got a text book on programming in Assembly: I don't need one.(I have over 20 text books on MFC and visual studio, read them all two or three times and I still struggle.)
This site in particular has been a god send and the masm32 package with it's example sources is brilliant.
I estimated that I have spent over £4000 on programming software and books over the years, and now I just have masm32 and radasm installed on my machine. Visual studio 2005 is collecting dust on my shelf.

Bravo to all concerned with the masm32 package and this site!! :bg
Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction. - Albert Einstien

travism