News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

The x86 Instruction Set is Vast....

Started by Ned, December 13, 2008, 05:25:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ned

Hi. My background is C. I've always liked the brevity. But I feel I am limited in properly utilizing it without a more thorough grounding in the layer below it. I have circled assembly for a while but haven't taken the plunge until lately. I have a few very basic questions just for my own peace of mind that I can't seem to get answered via googling.

1. The total intel x86 instruction set is freakin' huge. I look at the A-M and N-Z listings ( http://www.intel.com/products/processor/manuals/index.htm ) and it's overwhelming. Is there a much reduced base that gets you 95% of what you need for typical stuff? If so, is there a resource that will lay it out somewhat in those terms? I understand the CISC approach and I know Intel supports all the legacy stuff and I know that the SSE commands, etc. aren't core to basic assembler, but if I can treat it like C with a focus on a few language structures with everything remaining being more akin to occasionally used library stuff maybe it won't seem so imposing.

2. Does MS MASM (9.0) or MASM32 support that full instruction set of commands (in the link above)? I assume not, but I want to ask anyway.

3. For the stuff that is implemented, to what extent do those Intel documents apply to MASM 9/MASM32 with respect to syntax? Any major departures or dead on?

I'm sure these questions show my lack of knowledge but sometimes I just want to wrap up certain questions before I take the plunge.

Thanks!

jdoe

1)  Interesting statistics:  http://smallcode.weblogs.us/2006/04/22/x86-machine-code-statistics/

2)  MASM 9.0 is the most up to date (MASM32 = MASM 6.14)

FORTRANS

QuoteInteresting statistics:

6% call and 1% ret?  Really?

Steve

Edit.

Not much code reuse  apparently.
SRN

Tedd