MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Sharing example code, language benchmarks and thoughts

Started by ptoulis, November 01, 2008, 04:44:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ptoulis

Hi all,

as a newbie I found it a little hard to start with masm and this forum was really helpful.
I thought giving something back, so here is a code that decides which number is prime among 1..100,000
The code might be helpful for beginners like me that find themselves in deep waters, and shows defining and using a procedure,
printing to a console, etc.

.model flat,stdcall
option casemap:none

include     \masm32\include\windows.inc
include \masm32\macros\macros.asm       ; MASM support macros

include     \masm32\include\kernel32.inc
include     \masm32\include\masm32.inc

includelib  \masm32\lib\kernel32.lib
includelib  \masm32\lib\masm32.lib

.data
TextNotPrime db "It is not prime",13,10,0
TextIsPrime db "It is prime!",13,10,0
.code

start:

mov eax,1
   push eax
   forLoop:
       pop eax
       inc eax
       cmp eax,100000
       je finish
       push eax
       call isPrime
       jecxz NoPrime
       jmp YesPrime

NoPrime:
     invoke  StdOut,addr TextNotPrime
     jmp forLoop

YesPrime:
   invoke StdOut, addr TextIsPrime
   jmp forLoop

finish:
  exit

isPrime proc

mov ecx,eax
   mov ebx,1 ; this it the register
   mov eax,1 ;this has the product

loopThis:
        inc ebx ;increase the register
        cmp ecx,ebx
        je defIsPrime
        xor edx,edx
        mul ebx
        xor edx,edx
        div ecx
        mov eax,edx
        cmp edx,0
        je defNotPrime
        jmp loopThis

defNotPrime:
        mov ecx,0
        ret
    defIsPrime:
        inc eax
        cmp eax,ecx
        jne defNotPrime
        mov ecx,1
        ret

isPrime endp   

end start