News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

TDB 0.1.x - a Tree Data Base

Started by kennie, August 07, 2009, 08:17:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kennie

This is an early version of TDB, a Tree-Data-Base for assembler programmers. It can store and retrieve little portions of data in a tree-structure which can be saved to disk.

TDB is a universal tool near to the application, it's NOT designed as a replacement for well-known 'big' databases. Limitations: up to a few databases, up to a few thousand items in each DB, up to a few hundred kilobytes of data in each DB.
I mainly wrote TDB for my own use and put it to public to show the idea. The helpfile explains a little how TDB works internally, but please note that it's not a scientific work and I'm not a professional programmer. There might be better strategies, algorithms and code than the ones presented in this package.

TDB is easy to use. After loading/creating a DB with the _load_db function, data can be set/get by using a single function. The item's position is specified by a 'path' similar to a path in a filesystem. f.e. the tdb-path 'ex1\win\rect' means that the DB with the rootname 'ex1' has a subdirectory 'win' which contains an item 'rect' where the data is attached. Setting data to an existing path will automatically overwrite the existing data's, while setting data to a non-existant path will automatically creates the path and attaches the data.
Tdb files can also be created, edited and tested by the editor.

The advantage of TDB is that it's easy to use, needs only little programming time and the sourcecode is available.
The disadvantage of TDB is that the current reliability is unknown (not tested over a longer period) and that there is currently no modular visualisation (TDB is not directly connectible to a treeview control).

Credits: Hexeditor ShineInHex.dll was written by ramguru