Hi All,

I am very new to MASM.

I am using MASM with VS2005 std ed.

From VS2005 I have
ml.exe v 8.00 50727.42     and  Link.exe   v 8.00 i50727.42
also
from the MASM32 download I have
ml.exe v ??  and link.exe v 5.12 8078

I am using ''Programmers Guide' - MASM v 6.1 - 1992 and 'Reference Guide' - MASM v 6.1 - 1992 along with other texts.
These two documents ,although 1992 and 16 bit based, still provide valuable information.

Q1:
Is there any documentation on MASM v 8.00 from Microsoft. My Google search didnot show any?
The Help files from the MASM32 download certainly do cover some of the features of MASM v 8.0
I was hoping for a more complete document something like a refernce or programmers manual.

Q2:
Also as far as MASM on VS2005 has anyone done an assembly language project template for VS2005?
Presently my workaround is to use an empty c/c++ project configured for MASM.
Although this works, it does not expose the full potential of VS2005 and MASM.
Is there another way to use MASM in VS2005?

Q3:
What is the latest version of ml / link currently available from Microsoft?
Is it still v8.0 I thought I saw a reference to v10 somewhere but I may be mistaken.

Thanks
Peter

Mark Jones

Hello,

Quote from: PeterRod on September 24, 2008, 04:53:49 PM
Q1: Is there any documentation on MASM v8.00 from Microsoft?

A: Nope, sorry. The docs you have cover almost everything in MASM v8.0 already. Ghirai's website has a lot of other useful files for MASM and the MASM32 package however, viewable here. Several of those helpfiles are absolutely indespensible when writing 32-bit Windows code in assembler.

Q2: Is there another way to use MASM in VS2005?